Skip to content

Ideas on AI, growth and the systems behind modern business.

Hassan Ali
  • Home
  • About
  • Expertise
  • AI
  • Experience
  • Thinking
  • Contact
Navigation
  • Home
  • About
  • Expertise
  • AI
  • Experience
  • Thinking
  • Contact
  1. Home
  2. Thinking
  3. Top 10 AI Courses and Certifications in the UAE for 2026 and How to Get Certified

Guides

Top 10 AI Courses and Certifications in the UAE for 2026 and How to Get Certified

A practical UAE-first shortlist of ten AI courses and certifications for beginners, business professionals, project leaders, and generative-AI builders.

Hassan AliPublished September 8, 2026
Miniature learning scene with a professional comparing AI education paths that converge on a glowing AI chip, with a soft UAE-inspired skyline

If you search for the best AI certifications in the UAE, you will find a mix of very different things: short courses, shareable course certificates, vendor exams, project-management credentials, and executive programs. They are not interchangeable.

This shortlist is designed to make that difference clear. It includes ten options with a current official page, a useful fit for a UAE learner, and enough visible information to explain what you receive. “Top” here is an editorial shortlist, not an official UAE ranking. The numbers are for navigation, not rank. Prices, schedules, exam versions, and availability were checked on 7–8 September 2026 and should be reconfirmed before you pay. For the international credentials, the linked provider pages verify the provider’s credential details—not universal UAE eligibility or local availability—so use each official booking page for that final check.

The quick answer

Option and best fitWhat the official page showed
1. UAE Ministry of Education and HBMSU — National AI Upskilling Programme for Teachers — MoE teachersAnnounced 20 May 2026; eight self-paced modules; certificate of participation; current access was not published and must be confirmed
2. e& Academy and AWS — AI Nation Afaaq — UAE beginners and career changersFree access to 600+ courses, live coaching and sponsored-certification support; no prior cloud or AI experience required; runs through 31 December 2027
3. MBZUAI — Global AI Leadership Program — Senior decision-makersUAE-based executive program; October–November 2026 weekend edition listed at AED 55,000; certification badge not stated
4. Google AI Essentials — First AI credentialBeginner specialization with shareable certificate; five courses; no prior experience required; page duration indicators conflict
5. Microsoft Azure AI Fundamentals — Azure-curious technical beginnersFoundational certification exam; current exam is AI-901; confirm the UAE amount through official scheduling
6. AWS Certified AI Practitioner — Foundational AI/ML learnersFoundational vendor certification; 90 minutes; 65 questions; USD 100; valid three years
7. AWS Certified AI Business Strategist — Leaders and transformation professionalsBusiness-focused beta certification; 2026 beta; USD 50 beta price displayed; no coding required
8. PMI-CPMAI — Project and change leadersAI project-management certification; no experience required; 120 questions; 30 PDUs every three years
9. Databricks Generative AI Engineer Associate — LLM/RAG buildersTechnical GenAI certification exam; 45 scored questions, with possible extra unscored items; 90 minutes; USD 200; valid two years
10. NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Generative AI LLMs — Early technical practitionersEntry-level GenAI/LLM credential; detailed block says 50–60 questions while the intro says 50; 60 minutes; USD 125; valid two years

The most important split is simple: numbers 1–3 are UAE-hosted, UAE-partnered, or UAE-based learning programs; numbers 4–10 are certificates or certification exams from international providers to investigate from the UAE. If you need a formal exam credential, choose from entries 5–10. If you need a practical foundation before committing to an exam, Google AI Essentials is the broad beginner route. UAE learners can also use AI Nation Afaaq in entry 2 to build skills and prepare for sponsored industry certifications. Entry 1 documents a 2026 government-led programme for MoE teachers, but its current access status was not published.

UAE-hosted and UAE-based options

1. UAE Ministry of Education and HBMSU: National AI Upskilling Programme for Teachers

The National AI Upskilling Programme for Teachers is the dated UAE government-led announcement in this shortlist. The Ministry of Education and Hamdan Bin Mohammed Smart University announced it on 20 May 2026 for all MoE teachers across the UAE.

HBMSU designed the flexible, self-paced learning journey as eight focused modules. The official release says it combines theory with practical application and helps teachers use AI ethically in planning, evaluation, student interaction, and everyday educational practice. Its AI-powered learning system adapts to individual needs and provides feedback based on educational scenarios.

Teachers who successfully complete the programme receive a certificate of participation. That is a professional-development completion credential, not a vendor certification exam. The May announcement does not prove that enrollment remained open in September 2026, and it does not publish tuition or a public registration link. Eligible teachers should ask MoE or HBMSU whether access is currently available.

Screenshot of the UAE Ministry of Education page announcing the National AI Upskilling Programme for Teachers
Visual-browser capture of the UAE Ministry of Education announcement, checked 8 September 2026; the page is dated 20 May 2026.

Screenshot of the official UAE Ministry of Education announcement, checked 8 September 2026. The page is dated 20 May 2026.

2. e& Academy and AWS: AI Nation Afaaq

AI Nation Afaaq is an e& Academy program delivered in collaboration with AWS Training and Certification for learners across the UAE. The official page welcomes students, graduates, jobseekers, career changers, professionals, entrepreneurs, government employees, and people of determination. It says no prior cloud or AI experience is required.

The program gives learners free access to more than 600 self-paced digital courses covering cloud computing, AI, and machine learning. The page also lists hands-on labs, exam preparation, live coaching through Cloud Coach, and sponsored industry-certification support. It says there are no hidden costs and no credit card is required. The current program page says it runs through 31 December 2027.

Sponsored-certification support is not the same as receiving a certificate merely for registering. The page describes exam preparation and certification-voucher support, so confirm your voucher eligibility, complete the relevant preparation, and pass the provider exam before claiming the industry credential.

3. MBZUAI The Academy: Global AI Leadership Program

MBZUAI The Academy’s Global AI Leadership Program is for senior executives and decision-makers, not for someone looking for a low-cost beginner course. The program is framed around organizational AI transformation.

The page listed a weekend edition at the MBZUAI campus in Abu Dhabi from 3 October to 21 November 2026, with tuition of AED 55,000. It also listed a five-day edition from 5–9 April 2027 at AED 45,000. The curriculum headings cover the AI paradigm shift, AI fundamentals, industry transformation, and AI strategy, policymaking, and ethics.

This is a serious executive education option, but the page does not state a certification exam or badge. Treat it as a leadership-program option, not as equivalent to AWS, Microsoft, PMI, Databricks, or NVIDIA certification.

Screenshot of MBZUAI The Academy Global AI Leadership Program page showing the executive-program hero
Browser capture of the MBZUAI Global AI Leadership Program page, checked 7 September 2026.

Browser capture of the official MBZUAI program page, checked 7 September 2026.

International credentials to investigate from the UAE

4. Google AI Essentials

Google AI Essentials is a beginner route in the list. Coursera labels it beginner level, a five-course series, and suitable with no prior experience. The page says you earn a shareable career certificate that can be added to LinkedIn.

Treat the duration as approximate because the same provider page is inconsistent. Its header says four hours. Its overview says under ten hours. The five listed course estimates are one, two, two, one, and two hours, which add to about eight hours.

The curriculum covers AI literacy, generative AI tools, prompting, responsible AI, Gemini, and Google Sheets. It suits beginners whose immediate goal is confident, responsible use rather than cloud engineering.

The page displayed “Enroll for free,” but that does not support a promise of a free certificate for every UAE learner. Check the current Coursera enrollment and certificate terms before you start.

5. Microsoft Azure AI Fundamentals: AI-901

Microsoft’s Azure AI Fundamentals certification is a foundational technical route for someone beginning to develop AI solutions on Azure. Microsoft’s page says candidates should have foundational technical skills, familiarity with Azure resources, and knowledge of Python syntax and programming techniques.

The current exam name is AI-901: Microsoft Azure AI Fundamentals. The operative AI-901 study guide, updated 13 July 2026, says the skills measured from 15 April 2026 are identifying AI concepts and capabilities (40–45%) and implementing AI solutions using Microsoft Foundry (55–60%). The implementation domain covers generative AI apps and agents, text and speech, computer vision and image generation, and information extraction. Use that dated blueprint for preparation rather than the landing page’s broader summary wording.

Microsoft does not show one universal price: the certification page says the exam price is based on the country or region where it is proctored. Use the official scheduling flow to confirm the UAE amount and available delivery options.

If you see older articles recommending AI-900, check the current Microsoft page before studying. Exam names and objectives are exactly the sort of details that age quickly.

6. AWS Certified AI Practitioner

AWS Certified AI Practitioner is a foundational certification for people who may have foundational AI/ML knowledge but do not necessarily have experience building solutions.

The official exam details are unusually clear: 90 minutes, 65 questions, and USD 100. It can be taken at a testing center or online with proctoring, and the certification is valid for three years. AWS lists Arabic among the available exam languages, alongside English and several others.

For preparation, start with the AWS Skill Builder Exam Prep Plan, exam guide, practice questions or pretest, then add digital courses, labs, or Cloud Quest if you need more applied practice. The exam price is not the same thing as free preparation: AWS may offer learning resources without making the certification exam free.

7. AWS Certified AI Business Strategist (beta)

AWS Certified AI Business Strategist is a business-focused certification exam. AWS says it tests the ability to evaluate AI investments, build business cases, establish governance, and drive adoption and scaling. It explicitly does not assess knowledge of AWS services.

No coding or AWS implementation experience is required. AWS names product and program managers, sales and business-development professionals, line-of-business leaders, consultants, business analysts, and marketing professionals as possible candidates.

The trade-off is that it is a beta exam. The page showed 170 minutes, 85 questions, and a USD 50 beta price versus a USD 100 standard price. AWS also says the beta is available in 2026 and that candidates who earn it by 15 February 2027 receive an early-adopter badge. Because beta details can change, read the current exam guide before booking. The page says the practice exam is not available during beta.

8. PMI Certified Professional in Managing AI (PMI-CPMAI)

PMI-CPMAI is a strong option if your work is about governing, delivering, or changing AI initiatives rather than training models. PMI describes it as tool-agnostic and says no experience is required.

The route combines a 21-hour self-paced exam-preparation course with a 120-question, 160-minute exam. The course uses six CPMAI methodology phases, scenario-based exercises, case studies, and a workbook. PMI also says the course and exam are available in Arabic and several other languages.

Maintenance matters: PMI says the credential requires 30 professional development units every three years. The visible page did not show a fixed price, so use the official PMI checkout for the current bundle, exam, and regional terms.

9. Databricks Certified Generative AI Engineer Associate

Databricks Certified Generative AI Engineer Associate is the builder credential in this shortlist that is specifically tied to Databricks. It covers LLM-enabled solutions using Databricks, including retrieval-augmented generation and LLM chains, AI Search, Model Serving, MLflow, and Unity Catalog.

The exam has 45 scored questions and a 90-minute limit. Databricks says exams may also include unidentified unscored items; if they appear, the actual number delivered is higher and additional time is included. Databricks lists a USD 200 registration fee, online or test-center delivery, and two-year validity. There are no prerequisites, although Databricks recommends six or more months of hands-on experience. That recommendation is not an eligibility requirement, but it is a useful signal: this is not a first course for someone still learning what a prompt is.

10. NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Generative AI LLMs

NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Generative AI LLMs is an entry-level credential for foundational concepts behind developing, integrating, and maintaining generative-AI and LLM applications with NVIDIA solutions.

NVIDIA’s official page is inconsistent on question count: the introduction says 50, while the detailed exam block says 50–60 multiple-choice questions. It lists a 60-minute limit, online proctoring, a USD 125 fee, English delivery, and two-year validity. The preparation topics include machine learning and neural networks, prompt engineering, alignment, data analysis, experimentation, preprocessing and feature engineering, software development, Python LLM libraries, integration, and deployment.

Pay attention to the wording: NVIDIA says the credential includes a digital badge and an optional certificate. A badge and a certificate are not necessarily the same artifact, so confirm what you want to share before booking.

Which option should you choose?

Choose based on the work you want to do next, not the most impressive-sounding provider.

  • You are new to AI: start with Google AI Essentials or use AI Nation Afaaq for free UAE-wide access to a larger AWS learning catalogue and certification support. MoE teachers can investigate the national programme announced in May 2026, but must confirm current access.
  • You are a business professional: use AWS Certified AI Business Strategist for a formal exam credential. AI Nation Afaaq is the lower-cost starting route if you first need guided AWS learning and coaching.
  • You lead AI transformation: MBZUAI’s Global AI Leadership Program is the executive-education option here, but it is priced and structured as executive education rather than a standard certification.
  • You want foundational cloud credibility: AWS Certified AI Practitioner is the conceptual foundation. Microsoft AI-901 expects technical preparation and puts most of its blueprint weight on implementing AI solutions with Microsoft Foundry.
  • You manage delivery and governance: PMI-CPMAI fits better than a model-building exam.
  • You build generative-AI applications: choose Databricks for Databricks-based RAG and LLM application work, or NVIDIA for a broader entry-level LLM credential with a shorter listed exam duration.

How to get certified from the UAE

1. Decide what “certified” needs to mean

Write down the outcome you need: a completion certificate for a CV, a shareable certificate for LinkedIn, a professional certification with an exam, a digital badge, or executive training for a leadership team. This single decision removes most of the confusion from the list.

2. Confirm the UAE logistics on the official page

Check the current fee in AED or USD, tax treatment, remote-proctoring eligibility, testing-center availability, exam language, time limit, retake rule, and certificate or badge format. Do not rely on a third-party listicle for a 2026 date or price. MoE programme access, Afaaq voucher eligibility, the AWS beta, and cohort-based programs such as MBZUAI are especially changeable.

3. Use the provider’s blueprint as your study plan

For Microsoft, begin with the AI-901 skills measured. For AWS, use the exam guide and Skill Builder plan. For PMI, work through the CPMAI method and scenario exercises. For Databricks and NVIDIA, treat the published domains and topic lists as your checklist. A course marketed as “AI” is not automatically aligned with the exam you intend to take.

4. Build one small evidence project

Before the exam, create a safe, non-confidential example that proves you can use the ideas: an AI-use-case brief, a prompt-and-evaluation log, a retrieval prototype using public documents, an AI governance checklist, or a process map showing human review. The project is not a substitute for certification; it gives you something concrete to discuss when a hiring manager or client asks what you can do.

5. Register with the right account and schedule carefully

Use the official provider account, read the identity and proctoring rules, and check the cancellation or reschedule window before selecting a slot. Save the exam guide and confirmation email. If the credential is in beta, save the beta terms as well: the format and early-adopter rules may not match the eventual standard exam.

6. Verify and maintain the credential

After completing the course or passing the exam, confirm how the provider issues the certificate, badge, or public verification link. Record renewal requirements immediately. AWS AI Practitioner is valid for three years. Databricks lists two-year validity, and NVIDIA also lists two-year validity. PMI lists 30 PDUs every three years. A course completion certificate may not have the same renewal cycle, so keep the provider’s wording with your records.

Free AI courses with certificates in the UAE: what is actually free?

The honest answer is that “free course” and “free certificate” are separate questions. This section is limited to the ten options reviewed above; it is not a directory of every free UAE learning portal or sponsored program.

  • The Ministry of Education’s May 2026 release says successful participants in its teacher programme receive a certificate of participation, but it does not establish September enrollment or publish tuition or a public registration route. MoE teachers should ask the Ministry or HBMSU whether access is currently available.
  • AI Nation Afaaq says UAE learners can access more than 600 digital courses, live coaching and sponsored-certification support without hidden costs or a credit card. The program page says no prior cloud or AI experience is required and that the initiative runs through 31 December 2027. A sponsored exam voucher still requires eligibility confirmation and a passing exam result.
  • Coursera’s Google AI Essentials page displayed “Enroll for free” and financial-aid language, but you should confirm whether your enrollment path includes the shareable certificate without a paid subscription.
  • AWS provides preparation resources, but the AWS Certified AI Practitioner exam page lists a USD 100 exam fee. Free preparation does not mean a free certification.
  • AWS’s AI Business Strategist beta displayed a reduced USD 50 beta price, not a free exam.

If a provider does not clearly state both the tuition and the credential outcome, do not treat it as a free course with a certificate. Ask what is free, who qualifies, and what document you receive at completion.

Frequently asked questions

Which AI certification is a good starting point for a beginner in the UAE?

Google AI Essentials is a sensible first step in this shortlist because the official page labels it beginner level, says no prior experience is required, and offers a shareable certificate. It is a beginner course specialization with a shareable course certificate, not a formal exam certification. For an exam credential, AWS Certified AI Practitioner is the more conceptual foundation; AI-901 expects technical preparation and emphasizes Microsoft Foundry implementation. MoE teachers can ask whether the National AI Upskilling Programme announced in May 2026 is currently accessible; the announcement does not establish September enrollment.

Are there free AI courses with certificates in the UAE?

Yes, but distinguish free learning from an automatically awarded certificate. AI Nation Afaaq offers UAE learners free access to more than 600 digital courses, live coaching and sponsored industry-certification support. Its official page says no prior cloud or AI experience is required and that the program runs through 31 December 2027. Confirm voucher eligibility and pass the relevant provider exam to earn an industry certification. The Ministry of Education’s May announcement says the teacher programme awards a certificate of participation on successful completion, but it does not establish September enrollment, state the price, or publish a public registration route. Google AI Essentials showed “Enroll for free,” but its current certificate payment terms still need confirmation.

Which certification is best for business professionals?

AWS Certified AI Business Strategist is a direct formal certification match because AWS says it evaluates AI investments, business cases, governance, adoption, and scaling. AWS also says no coding or AWS implementation experience is required. It is a 2026 beta, so confirm availability, format, price, and early-adopter terms before booking. AI Nation Afaaq is a free UAE-wide preparation route with AWS learning and coaching, while MBZUAI is the executive-education option.

Which generative AI certification fits a technical practitioner?

Databricks Certified Generative AI Engineer Associate fits a practitioner building RAG and LLM-enabled applications on Databricks; NVIDIA’s associate credential has a shorter listed exam duration—60 minutes versus Databricks’ 90—and covers LLM and GenAI foundations using NVIDIA solutions. Databricks has no prerequisite but recommends six or more months of hands-on experience. NVIDIA lists a digital badge and an optional certificate. Choose Databricks for Databricks-specific application work and NVIDIA for an NVIDIA-solutions credential.

Is Microsoft AI-901 the current Azure AI Fundamentals exam?

Yes. Microsoft’s current certification page names AI-901: Microsoft Azure AI Fundamentals. The dated study guide says the operative blueprint is 40–45% identifying AI concepts and capabilities and 55–60% implementing AI solutions using Microsoft Foundry. Use that study guide rather than the landing page’s broader summary because exam codes and objectives can change.

Final recommendation

If you want a sensible progression, start with Google AI Essentials or AI Nation Afaaq, then choose a formal credential based on your work: AWS AI Practitioner for conceptual cloud-AI literacy, AI-901 for technically prepared Microsoft Foundry learners, AWS AI Business Strategist for business adoption, PMI-CPMAI for delivery, or Databricks/NVIDIA for generative-AI building.

The certificate is only useful if it connects to a real capability. Hassan AI’s AI perspective, AI and digital strategy expertise, and related guide to agentic AI readiness in Dubai can help you connect an individual learning choice to a broader adoption plan. If that is the decision you are working through, you can contact Hassan AI.

About Hassan Ali

Hassan Ali works at the intersection of AI, growth, automation and digital strategy. His background spans performance marketing, analytics, CRM, conversion optimisation, marketing technology and digital growth across the UAE and international markets.

About Hassan

All thinking

Hassan Ali

AI · Growth · Automation · Digital Strategy

Navigation

  • About
  • Expertise
  • AI
  • Experience
  • Thinking
  • Contact

Information

  • Privacy

© 2026 Hassan Ali